3d forums home Resources for 3d artists

i need help on deciding on what type of computer to get

Posted: November 23, 2011
edwardcoto
Hello,
im new at maya. i barely started taking animation courses at my college last year. so pretty much i just know simple basic modeling, i want to start improving my skills at home. Thus, i would have to get a new computer that can support a educational version of maya, thats pretty much free for students i believe. Ive look at computers, all i know you have get an intel processors and a nvidia video card bur im pretty confused im not really much of tech guy but i need suggestions on what type of computer i should get that wont suck up all my cash lol. Much help would be appreciated Smile
Posted: November 23, 2011
baalnazzar
CPU - Take as much and fast cores as you can. In my opinion it mustn't be Intel. Just find some tests and choose the one with good proportion of price and power. It's often that for 1-5% of power you have to pay triple price which obviously isn't worthy paying.

GPU - Take Nvidia with no doubt. It's all because of CUDA. I'd be glad if power of AMD cards would be supported but it isn't for now. If you will use your machine for work only then take some Quadro. If you will use it for entertainment too then look for some powerful standard card. I only know that there are some newer cards that works slower than older ones in viewport so you'd check it out or maybe someone here will propose something.

RAM - As much as you can but 12GB should be enough for comfortable work.

I'm going to change my old PC and will have to read more about that too Smile My problem is GPU because except work I play games and will need some card that will be quite good for both - gaming and working.
Posted: November 24, 2011
edwardcoto