3d forums home Resources for 3d artists

To Quadro or not to Quadro.. graphics card dilema!

Posted: July 13, 2010
dlthomas
I'm trying to build the best computer I can with the budget I've got (about £800). The trouble at the moment seems to be deciding on a suitable graphics card. I was going to choose the nVida Quadro FX3800, but at £730 I would need to delay buying it (that's how much the rest of the computer costs!).

It has been suggested to me that instead I use the nVida GTX 470 (or 480). Its half the price of the Quadro, but as a gaming card I'm worried about how it may perform with rendering etc (I don't game on PCs).

My main priority is getting a good performance from Cinema 4D, Maya and After Effects. At the moment I've got a Macbook Pro with a RadeonX1600... which to put it politely is terrible. Some of my work is for professional purposes, but I'm still learning so a lot of it is still my own projects. What I'm asking is if you think its worth holding off a little while and buying the expensive one or buying the GTX 470?

Of course, if you have any other cards that come to mind I'd be happy to hear about them.

Just to give you an idea of the other stuff that will go with it:

Motherboard:
ASUS P6X58D-E

Power:
Corsair 650TX

CPU:
Intel i7 930

RAM:
Crucial 4GB

HD:
Samsung HD103SJ 1TB

CD/DVD:
Samsung SH-S223L
Posted: July 14, 2010
3d artist gallery Andyba
What type of work are you going to create, Rendering, Animation, 3d Modeling?

For rendering you need a good CPU and lots of RAM, I would add more than 4gb if I were you. GPU will not affect your rendering unless you are using some special software for this.

For the rest of 3d work GTX 470 is quite good, unless you are working on AVATAR 2 and have an enormous amount of high detailed 3d objects with huge textures to manipulate and navigate around. For this you will need a professional 3d graphics card that has more memory.
dlthomas