3d forums home Resources for 3d artists

Hey guys, I'm a newbie and I need some help :( URGENTLY

Posted: October 18, 2009
lostsoul89
hey whats goin on? Im George. I'm sort of new to 3d...but ive used a few 3d programs already....but like Im trying to say, im no expert. I want to learn so much more....the 3d world fascinates me.
My problem is this.....I'm using a Acer laptop which i just bought, wasting ALL the money I had left on it. But theres a HUGE problem....NO 3D program has worked on it correctly. I've tried Daz Studio 2.0, Daz Studio 3, Cinema 4D, Poser 6, and Lightwave 9 on it...and they ALL run EXTREMELY slow...making it impossible for me to even POSE my characters....and when i try rendering ANYTHING or load MORE then a base model...the program either crashes or takes extremely long to render OR pose...RENDERS finish in about 30 minutes (fastest render speed ive gotten). I got into Lightwave, and even being alot HARDER then Poser or Daz...I friggin LOVED the program, but now it wont even launch Sad.
My laptop has 250 gb's of hard drive, 2 gb's RAM, my processor is 1.33 GHz , Intel Graphics Media Accelerator 500, and uses OpenGL 1.1 (impossible to update to a higher version...my video card supports OpenGL 1.0 up to OpenGL 2.0, but the driver DOESNT support it.)
What I want to know is....WHAT program (new or old versions) would work on my computer? I'm looking for a program that would give me good quality renders for human modeling (making people) and environment modeling (for scenes)...I dont care of it gives me photo realistic renders, I only care about a program that will run. And just in case....I used Poser 6, and the renders were ok, compared to Daz Studios or later Poser versions, but something like that I would take. Again, I dont care if the program is a old version....thanks guys and I hope u can help.

G57
Posted: October 26, 2009
3d artist gallery Andyba