3d forums home Resources for 3d artists

Softimage Xsi: Soft learning curve compared to Maya??

Posted: June 14, 2007
Charles Smith
I have been using Maya for 2 years now and am considering doing a degree were they use soft. I was wondering if anyone has learnt maya and changed over to soft, i know its good to know a few different tools but did anyone have any problems, found it easy etc etc ??

Any comments welcome...!

jonathan Smile
Posted: June 15, 2007
Shawn Lancing
well lets say learning maya is easier coz its more userfriendlier.

maya got shit load of popup windows with huge amount of options but most of them don't even have to be there. in soft you don't get much options coz everything you need is already done automatically. that's the beauty of XSI, do whatever you want, what you want and when you want and it doesn't scrue your workflow.

taughts of an 8 months XSI and maya user.
Posted: June 18, 2007
Max3D
The only thing i can say is that i only meet a guy that *really* knows what maya is doing under that mess.

And that is because, although easy to start, is very complex to get deep into it, while XSI is clearer and more powerful in its concepts and foundation (ActiveX technology in not the holy grail, but is going to make the different very soon).
Posted: June 19, 2007
DoggyJP
Ive been learning XSi for jsut over 5 months and Ive found it very straightforward! .....once you've found where all the buttons are
Posted: June 20, 2007
Kiffy20
to rtfm or not to rtfm, that is the effin question, no?

Smile
Posted: January 09, 2009
3d artist gallery Andyba
Definitely to rtfm Smile
There are many hidden things both in xsi and maya.
Posted: February 26, 2009
3d artist gallery Huva
I think xsi is easier to learn.
Posted: August 13, 2010
maya sucks