3d forums home Resources for 3d artists

Maya Blend Shape Animation Editor Not Allowing Me to Key?

Posted: January 17, 2011
riverswebb7
Anyone know why I'd be able to key blends from the Channel Box but not from the Blend Shape Editor? There has to be some setting I've missed... right?

I'm working with the Pixar Model they offer (or offered) for free online. And I'm so rusty in Maya I've forgotten how to fix this issue....

Can anyone offer me any insight? I'm searching google but finding nothing helpful. I just need to know how to get the blend shape editor to allow me to key from there.

Thanks - J.

This_Dude.jpg
3d artist gallery Andyba
Does it show any errors when you try to key?
Explain step by step how exactly you are trying to create keys with the Blend Shape editor.
Can you create keys with the Blend Shape editor on other 3d models?
dTb
I am not a Maya expert but My guess is that the Blend shapes are wired to some controllers. So you should be keying the controllers instead of the blend shapes
riverswebb7
Andyba wrote:
Does it show any errors when you try to key?
Explain step by step how exactly you are trying to create keys with the Blend Shape editor.
Can you create keys with the Blend Shape editor on other 3d models?

Ok, So if I go into the BS editor, slide a slider and hit "Key" under the slider it doesn't work. If I slide the slider and hit "S" it does not work. If I slide the slider and hit "Key All" it does not work. If I slide the slider and hit "select" then any of the above, it does not work. If I slide the slider and in the Channel box, right click and select "Key All" it does not work.

Now, if I forget about the BS editor and close that - then go to the Channel Box and with a deformer selected, type in a number from 1-10 and key that, it works.