50%
 50%  [ 1 ]
Character modelling
50%
 50%  [ 1 ]
Total Votes : 2

Posted: December 11, 2009
bkrupitza
I recently completed a 1 year diploma in 3d animation. The half year was spent learning 3ds max and Z-brush. The second half year was spent working on this animation, alot of time was spent on storyboarding and trying to decide what to do.

It is 45 seconds of footage + credits. I made the music track on an acoustic guitar, and everything was made from scratch(excluding trees and starscape textures). I built the characters from Z-spheres, then retopologised and polypainted them. I built the airship with a mixture of Z-brush and 3ds max, and it has over 500 component pieces. I added the wave splash using realflow, though this was left until the end of the project, with little time to spare before the final render.

This is my first attempt at portraying my video game concept. I learnt a heap whilst making it, and I promise to make something which is a bit longer, and more refined soon. I am eager to receive some feedback, please spread this link.

I am looking for work, experience, and mentors
contact me: bkrupitza@gmail . com
Posted: December 12, 2009
3d artist gallery Andyba
You know for first animation it is really impressive.
I can see that you have to learn a lot about rendering but if you want to find a job in 3d industry you will have to learn deeper the 3d modeling or 3d animation process. You choose. In the present it is quite difficult to be generalist and to do work on the demanded level. The standards have changed and the competition is high.
Posted: December 13, 2009
bkrupitza
I was committed to completing my storyboard with the above project, in truth I rigged and animated 5 characters in less than a week (and alot of that time was cloth sim). I'm currently deciding on how my next character will look, what he is going to do, and what the background will be.