3d forums home Resources for 3d artists

3D Panorama View with 2D assets.

Posted: October 20, 2009
CeeJay
Hi @ll,
i hope this is the right forum, because it is a camera question.

I want to create a 3D panorama view with pre rendered 2D pictures.
I modeled a 3D enviroment and take picture in a cube.
So I got 6 pictures: Front, Back, Left, Right, Top, Bottom.

Now I build a cube and put the picture on it. And it works. Now when I am moving the cube around (or the camera) in the edges of the cube the pictures stretch and it looks unrealistic.

So I was think maybe a Sphere will help me. I generated a (hexa) Sphere and put again my 6 sides on it.

Now my problem is I have a "fish-eye" effect. I am new to 3D at all, and I read about the camera it can be "perspective projection" or "othogal projection" I am using the first one.

Is there a way to setting up the camera to minimize the "fish-eye" effect. Or is there another way to make a panorama 3D view?

Please let me know if I am wrong here, and may be you can help me find the right forum :/

greetings
CeeJay
Posted: October 22, 2009
kiranbhushana
CeeJay wrote:
Hi @ll,
i hope this is the right forum, because it is a camera question.

I want to create a 3D panorama view with pre rendered 2D pictures.
I modeled a 3D enviroment and take picture in a cube.
So I got 6 pictures: Front, Back, Left, Right, Top, Bottom.

Now I build a cube and put the picture on it. And it works. Now when I am moving the cube around (or the camera) in the edges of the cube the pictures stretch and it looks unrealistic.

So I was think maybe a Sphere will help me. I generated a (hexa) Sphere and put again my 6 sides on it.

Now my problem is I have a "fish-eye" effect. I am new to 3D at all, and I read about the camera it can be "perspective projection" or "othogal projection" I am using the first one.

Is there a way to setting up the camera to minimize the "fish-eye" effect. Or is there another way to make a panorama 3D view?