3d forums home Resources for 3d artists

Modelling a Logitech G11 Keyboard

Posted: September 04, 2009
KingA
Hi,

I'm fairly new at 3d modeling, only took a few tutorials like how to make a realistic earth (with clouds, atmosphere), making chess pieces (pawn, rook, bishop, knight).

So i'm just a beginner.

I want an advice on how to make a particular part of this keyboard (the smooth margins). Screenshot

If some1 wonders how a Logitech G11 Keyboard looks like, search for it on google images Razz.

Clipboard01aweweqe.jpg
3d artist gallery Andyba
Here is a reference for others to see how it looks:

For the smooth margins try edge bevel and mesh smooth where appropriate.
Right now the problem with your approach in modeling this keyboard is that you are trying to make it a single object while in reality it consists of multiple elements that are united together.

Right now if you try mesh smooth you get a mess. But if you extract the margins as a separate object and adjust the topology so that it is all quads, then mesh smooth will provide good results and will not spoil the rest of the object.
KingA
And how do i revert the changes i did :-s? As the margins are already beveled, and i want to restore it, and make a subobject from i

LE: Ok, i deleted those vertices and created polygons again but now that margin has only 1 segment.

And should i detach it as an element or a new object?

Nevermind, i did it Razz
3d artist gallery Andyba
KingA wrote:
And how do i revert the changes i did :-s? As the margins are already beveled, and i want to restore it, and make a subobject from i

Nobody said it will be easy. Smile
edge ring and edge loop select + delete or collapse may help to clean the 3d mesh faster. At least that's how I am usually doing it. Smile

KingA wrote:
And should i detach it as an element or a new object?

Detach it as a new object, you have more control this way. Can apply modifiers to it only, smooth it and so on.

KingA wrote: