3d forums home Resources for 3d artists

Graphic artist needs recommendations for Mac 3D package.

Posted: August 29, 2009
thisandthat
Hi

Hope I'm posting in the right section here.

I am returning to 3D design after about 8 years break. I'm a graphics professional (Photoshop, InDesign, Quark Illustrator etc).

I used to use Strata Studio 3d, (I also dabbled a bit with Lightwave). I probably didn't use them to the level that most of you pros do. I used to mainly generate models and textures and mess with the various lighting and rendering options, before bringing the results into Photoshop to combine with photography to produce high-end 2D digital artwork.

I'm planning on returning to using a 3D package in a similar way. I don't need strong animation or architectural features, I just need it to be fairly easy to use and to be able to render good quality models and scenes in a format that I can import into Photoshop at a high resolution.

I'm really out of touch with what's out there, but I know that I hated Blender when I played with it. Strata always seemed fairly easy to use way back then, but it's been a long time. Is it really worth $700? What else should I be looking at? Is Cinema 4D still getting rave reviews? I don't need anything as powerful as Maya. Is there anything cheaper worth looking at?

Thanks.
Posted: August 29, 2009
3d artist gallery Andyba
I can recommend Modo 401 by Luxology.
There is also cheetah 3d.
Posted: August 30, 2009
thisandthat
Thanks Andyba.

Cheetah 3D looks to be in my price range. But I've just had a bit of a play with the demo and I find it very unintuitive to use. I'm sure this is just my unfamiliarity with the interface.

Modo looks very interesting, although costs more than Strata.