3d forums home Resources for 3d artists

Lightwave, Strata 3D, or Cinema 4D

Posted: April 23, 2008
TRoutMac
Hi folks. Just entered the forum here, first time. Thank you for making this available to me and to others.

I'm a graphic designer/illustrator and I've decided that I need to jump into 3D modeling and I'm looking for some recommendations as to which product might suit me best. I do have limited experience in the 3D world, from a few years back, with Macromedia's "Extreme 3D" and more recently with SketchUp, so even though I've MUCH to learn, I'm not going in totally cold, either.

I use a Power Mac G5 dual (1.8 ghz), 10.4.x OS with 3 gigs of RAM.

I anticipate using the modeler mostly for 'still' illustration for print, that is, without animation. However, I do expect to do some limited animation for informational graphics which might be published to the web. I'm certainly NOT interested in "full blown" animation, for lack of a better description. Just simple stuff. I think my emphasis would be product illustration.

Currently I have demos for Lightwave, Cinema 4D and Strata 3D and have been experimenting with each of them.

At this point, I have to say I'm leaning heavily toward Strata. I'm far more comfortable with Strata's user interface than with the other two. I am under the impression that Lightwave is probably significantly more powerful than Strata, but I'm not sure I would use all of that, either. I like the way Strata integrates with Illustrator and Photoshop. I notice that Strata, however, doesn't offer layers and it doesn't appear to offer nearly as many primitives as LW or Cinema 4D.