3d forums home Resources for 3d artists

Advice for rendering realistic 3d basketball scenes

Posted: July 02, 2011
bballgraphics
Hi, everyone. I am new to computer graphics and 3-d modeling, so I apologize ahead of time for any dumb questions. However, I am actually fairly experienced in software (Python, C++, Java, C#) and I know a lot of math, so I'm hopeful that I may be able to get up to speed relatively quickly.

My goal is to be able to render fairly realistic looking 3-d basketball scenes, with the 10 players on the court in realistic poses. In the short term, I'm not really interested in animation. I just want to have a 3-d model of a particular moment in time so that I can generate images of the scene from the viewpoint of each of the players as well as fans in the stands, etc. I'd rather not have the players look too cartoonish, and ideally the models for the players would maybe be derived from photos of actual basketball players.

I am most comfortable in Python, so I downloaded cgkit and started experimenting. I actually succeeded in doing a super-simple cartoonish version of what I want, where the players are represented with very simple geometrical objects (sphere for head, thick cylinder for torso, skinny cylinders for upper and lower arms, etc.). I was able to figure out how to rotate the arms, legs, etc. to represent dribbling, playing defense, etc., and I was able to draw a simple court, rim, backboard and so on.